top of page

Mississippi Professional Educators (MPE) Elects 2022 - 2023 Leaders

Donuts on Cake

The Mississippi Professional Educators (MPE) elected its 2022-2023 officers and new board members at the association’s 2022 Best Practices Symposium held April 9 at the Sheraton Flowood. Elected as officers of the professional association were:
• President: Dr. LaShundia Carson, Acting Associate Dean at Alcorn State University.
• President-elect: Chris Chism, Principal of Pearl High School and will serve as Superintendent of the Pearl Public School District beginning July 1.
• Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. Melissa Bufkin, Federal Programs Director, Early Childhood, Curriculum and Gifted Coordinator, Jones County School District
• Past-President: Tamra Mills, a 4th grade teacher at Newton County Elementary and lecturer for Mississippi State University.
Members elected for three-year terms to the association’s Board of Directors were:
• District 1: Deana Patterson, NBCT, Work-based Learning Coordinator at Itawamba Career and Technical Center in the Itawamba County School District.
• District 3: Bettie Martinek, NBCT, Special Education teacher at Riverside High School in the Western Line School District.
• District 5: Cody Killen, principal at Newton County High School in the Newton County School District.
• District 7: Alicia Conerly, principal of Monticello Elementary in the Lawrence County School District.
Founded in 1979, the Mississippi Professional Educators is Mississippi’s largest and premier organization for professional educators, serving approximately 13,000 teachers, administrators and support personnel
MPE serves members in pre-K through graduate education in both public and private institutions with the purpose of promoting better education for the children of Mississippi.
For additional information regarding MPE, please visit

Donuts on Cake
bottom of page